This Is England ’90 – First day of shooting (29th September 2014)

by weslar

This is England ’90 Blog – 18th September 2014

Arrived at the place where we got fitted for out costume which was a task in itself, hiding in plain sight, behind a warehouse. Inconspicuous, clever. I like that. So I go inside register that I’m here and meet some of the costume designers, a woman called Maria, Maria who I’d be meeting a few times fro costume fittings. Did the usual look through multiple outfits to find the characters look. All in her hands I am her canvas.

Most of the time was waiting, the reception was welcoming, the hair & make up truck was intimidating. What are they going to do to my hair, how will I look for the show?

Met Andrew Shim AKA ‘Milky’ to make the day (the costume fitting day) end with a high. I bump into him. What a cool moment.

Filming day – 29th September 2014

Arrive at 7am (1hr 30 min early) being punctual is reeling on my energy. Eagerly my interest in the day keeps me awake and motivated. The time waiting for crew to arrive, which was a long time by the way wandering back and forth, passing coins marking no parking for non crew members (General public), no need for time wasted shoeing people away from the set, essentially ruining the continuity of the 90’s with their Peugeot or Mazda.

We all congregated in a hall opposite a church in Frecheville. Looked like a kitted out cafeteria in school and backstage on the west end. Make up areas sealed off. You know for privacy.

Here’s essential a point by point explanation of the filming day.

  • walk in the group that is needed for the shoot to the community centre
  • Entered just staring at all the camera gear etc (Arri cameras)
  • get organised into dance groups
  • told to beats of the scene
  • Lasted 10 – 15 minutes at a time
  • sometimes dancing to no music at all. Having to keep the beat in your head
  • at least 3 hours of that
  • got to walk in front of camera several times (looking like I have pulled [Steph])
  • Multiple times to walk through crowd in shots
  • Lack of fresh air, was slightly exhausting
  • breathers outside taking continuity photos for make up & Hair & costume
  • More dancing
  • Dinner time was amazing, free food and a few hours to sit with other extras
  • Had a lot of fun for a few hours talking, having fun
  • times up for our long break, back into the community centre
  • this was a little different we went into a room and were picked in groups to do a scene
  • Was set up with a group and in the scene we were supposed to work out before a fight between the main characters and the goth broke out
  • I was with another girl that I met in the episode (thats 2 so far)
  • We walked out several times starting with different starting positions, stood holding hands, leaning on each other, sat on the ground as some guy on the scene tries to suggest a threesome (no thanks)
  • After several takes we had finished
  • the goths would smash through the door to where we would be waiting
  • The cast are really nice people, checking out if the goths where okay after each take (they had a fight)
  • For my final scene I was picked and was meant to walk in with another girl (3 now)
  • Setting up outside to walk up the street in to the rave
  • the first few takes where to establish blocking, walked in front of the camera that was to the left
  • change of plan moved around the camera on it’s left and appeared from that side
  • one take I fell into a little ditch, then crunched on a coke bottle
  • after several takes we wrapped
  • Oh yeah, the whole time I would be filmed I was without my glasses (So pretty much dancing in the dark, having to have the girls let me know when we would be cued to move)
  • Long day ended at roughly 10pm

First official day on a TV set and it was on the other side of the camera. An interesting perspective, seeing how busy a production is behind the camera and how it’s the complete opposite on the other side. There’s a lot of waiting around. But a lot of excitement in the air too.

