Editing Day Two (Whitby Residential Short Film) 27th April 2015

by weslar

Finding the best music to score a film to is ecstatic, but when you find it 1 second into your iTunes library (and in my case a song that fits lyrically too). Tears for Fears – “Change”. Aptly named for the character in the film. I would talk about all the little nuisance lyrics that apply to the film, but I want that to be left for the final cut.

So with the song I started with layering the track over the intro, lowering and raising the sound to blend with the dialogue. Most of the time I was trying the music in segments throughout the film, placing it where I thought it would need to go, to fill in blank space, others it was to fit the lyrics in with the scene so they would coincide with each other.

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 18.39.33

Some other little tweaks I made affected the running time. I looked though the film for a few hours cutting shots or trimming them to feel more natural, to what I want them to be. Not for cutting the running time, but to keep included the media that I thought fit the project.

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 15.22.19

A lot of the audio is now fixed, nothing as drastic as needing to dub lines but to raise and match volume levels in scenes so that they would flow and not randomly raise and lower in dB.

