Editing (Factual – 3 Minute Documentary) 19th Nov – 8th Dec 2014 [Blog 8/10]

by weslar

19th November 

The beginning of the end… too dramatic I guess. Started to edit the interview which meant looking through 1 hour and 30 minutes of footage. Notebook on hand I took notes throughout the footage, jotting down the different talking points of the interview so that I know what could go where in the edit.

I marked and cut the parts, which left 15 clips of interesting footage, to use which I have to cut down even further to fit them into the documentary.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 14.47.24

21st November

Down to 5 different parts of the interview, I have chosen the segments of the interview that I want to use, listening to them a dozen times to arrange and re-arrange the positioning of them.

The music section I had recorded was a mixture of 3 different cameras, all synced together. Roughly about 7 to 9 different multi cam clips to go through, it took at least 2 hours to go through the song and piece together the different clips and have them synced with the music.

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 11.33.27

23rd November 2014

I started to edit the ‘Rec and Play’ Gig footage. This is a recording studio that I filmed in and the edit that took the longest to put together, because of the challenge of syncing a lot of clips to the music.

Had to tweak positioning of audio so that it wouldn’t look out of sync, which for the most part it did. But a lot of the time I’d move footage around and some other shot would be out of sync.

The Rec & Play edit.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 14.48.52 copy

The edit so far..

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 16.02.30

26th November 2014

Had a breakout moment of how to link his quote on understanding “I Guess That’s Life” with having audio of that song in the beginning (explains the interview after) and it’s his “Life”. At first I thought I’d need some obvious explanation as voice over to understand the line about I Guess That’s Life and Star Wars.

27th November 2014

Today I tweaked the position of the ‘I Think’ gig (the giant Labyrinth of clips)

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 15.11.08 copy

This one.

To not make the ‘I Think’ music performance become just little music video I added voice over onto the footage. Which fitted incredibly well, the lyrics about the melancholy of the songs and the humour involving his explanation of lyrics vs the guitar.

Inserted more from the interview to flesh out the substance of the interview, now it has a back bone of information about Anthony and the kinds of things he represents.

Now with the re-arranged edit the flow seems fluid, it now ends with Anthony’s description of the music he creates and what he ultimately thinks listening to his music feels like.

7th December 2014

Finished the edit with just finishing touches to go (Sound and Colour Grading). I managed to move around the cutaways of the EP to overlay a jump cut in the beginning, and listened through the interview to choose what sound bite would go over the last segment of the performance, that was left open and needed to have something to change the flow of the footage instead of being a gap of music without context to the documentary.

Screen Shot 2014-12-07 at 19.28.30

8th December 2014

The final hurdle, the colour grading and tweaking the sound. Not music to tweak, things to perfect.

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 10.35.52

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 10.35.36

The final edit.

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 10.37.57

