First day of filming (Factual – 3 Minute Documentary) 22nd September 2014 [Blog: 3/10]

by weslar

Early start to making the documentary, I think it’s the best way to do it. The thing is that years before it would be a matter of when by notification. For example being told that there is a set time to make this in, that still exists but now it’s not a matter of being told when you should do it’s up to me to take initiative and film this when available.

Arriving at Todd’s Coffee House. I met the people at the cafe, reminded them what I was doing and started to set up my own gear in the corner of the room. It became my private corner.

The timing was perfect, the last of the customers started to leave (I’d assume that was because they saw the camera gear). So with that it was perfect timing to talk through what was going to happen with Anthony and what he would be doing in the shots I wanted to get.

With the help of a friend as the customer being served by Anthony we walked through the shot and started to roll (Many takes later…) and finally we have a final shot that was complete. Throughout the takes before the perfect shot, there wasn’t a dry eye in the room. The laughter from one take to the next elevated the more they tried to complete the shot.

IMG_2127 After the first (complex) shot, I looked around for shots that I could get. The whole purpose of the shoot was to show Anthony’s current working position, what he does to pay for his passion, music.

We were getting to the point when all the shots that I could possibly get were filmed, so the owner of the Cafe went to fetch her dog, named Boo.

IMG_2144 Put a smile on our faces.

